Latest News

Publish date: Sep 1, 2011

Regional winners announced for DII CCA scholar-athlete award

Sixteen regional winners of the NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners Association Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award have been announced.  

A male and female Division II Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be selected from the 16 regional winners.  

The award, sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, highlights the extraordinary achievements of Division II student-athletes. Butch Raymond, commissioner of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference and president of the DII CCA, said the award showcases the academic and athletic talent at the Division II level.  

“The CCA Scholar-Athlete Awards exemplify the balance between academics and athletics that is the cornerstone of Division II,” Raymond said.

The commissioners from each Division II region selected the regional winners. To be nominated for consideration, a student-athlete must have attained a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average and demonstrated outstanding athletic credentials. 

National award winners will be announced later this month.  

Women’s regional winners

  • Shannon Gagne, New Haven, track and field, criminal justice (3.93 undergraduate/3.95 graduate)
  • Neely Spence, Shippensburg, cross country/track and field, human communications studies (3.87)
  • Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne, cross country/track and field, biology (3.81)
  • Barbi Pocza, Barry, tennis, finance (3.71)
  • Lindsay Lettow, Central Missouri, track and field, psychology minor (3.73)
  • Samantha Murphy, Grand Canyon, basketball, pre-physical therapy (3.97)
  • Rebecca Anderson, Minnesota Duluth, soccer, biochemistry/molecular biology (3.939)
  • Monica Kinney, Grand Valley State, track and field, nursing (3.78)

Men’s regional winners 

  • Vladimir Milosavljevic, Dowling, soccer, accounting and finance (4.0)
  • Ian Wild, Mercyhurst, football/lacrosse, business (3.91)
  • Carter Capps, Mount Olive, baseball, environmental science (3.46)
  • Daniel Stapff, Barry, golf, finance (3.92)
  • Kirk Jewasko, Incarnate Word, baseball, business administration (3.83)
  • Kyle Ciliento, Grand Canyon, soccer, business administration (3.98)
  • Matt Braithwaite, Augustana (South Dakota), cross country/track and field, biology (4.0)
  • Matthew Laschuk, Wayne State (Michigan), swimming, chemistry/pre-med (3.99)